One of my greatest joins in life is finding ways around junk food.   Nachos is one of those things.  I actually remember the first time I had nachos.  It was some special night in elementary school and everyone got to go the San Diego Gulls hockey game.  The snacks on the menu that night were “arena nachos.”  I remember thinking these are the sh*t.   Being it was elementary school I am sure my menu for the day had been granola and kiefer and maybe an avocado and sprout sandwich on whole grain bread.  I am grateful to my parents now that I ate like this, but back then those nachos seemed like the promised land.

It was not until years late that I was reunited with the glorious orange goo I had longed for.  I was at target with my mom and sister and there were deciding on whether or not to do there “guilty pleasure target tradition” or not.   Moments later my sister emerged what I had been longing for for years “arena nachos.”  Only this was at Target.   I took one from the plastic tray and raised it slowly to my mouth.  It was…… disgusting.  My mom and sister both continued eating the nachos as we wandered through the magical aisles of Target.  Towards the end they both kept complaining of being in a nacho coma.  To me, there are two types of food comas.  The kinds you have after thanksgiving that is warm and fuzzy, and then the kind that is more like a food hangover.  It leaves you uneasy, feeling sick, full of anxiety and often shame.

I wanted to find a way to bring back that joy I found the first time I had nachos.  I wanted junk food, but I didn’t want a hangover.  I tried a few things, for awhile I did the Napolean Dynamite the chips with the cheese in the microwave, but it wasn’t the same.  Plus I didn’t have a microwave anymore and when I tried to put them in the broiler they actually caught fire.  True Story.  Then, I did this recipe and it was like my prayers had been answered.  The San Diego Gulls may no longer be a hockey team anymore (just found that out) but there nachos will for ever live in my heart.

 

Organic Nacho Cheese Recipe:

1 tablespoon cooking oil

1/2 onion chopped finely

5 cups monterey jack cheese shredded

2 tablespoons sour cream

2/3 cup cream

Heat oil in medium sauce pan, add chopped onions and cook until soft and translucent.

Add cheese, cream and sour cream and melt.  Enjoy with whatever chips you like.

For Katy’s birthday we set up a “Nacho Bar” which was really fun.  All sorts of bars involving food are great.  Like taco bars, salad bars, chocolate bars…..

 

