This is your pretty basic meat and potatoes type of dinner, but it never fails to impress.  I realize in the picture I spilt sauce all over the side of the plate, Lay of me I as starving.

I am trying to talk my sister into making beed tenderloin for her next dinner party, because it is so easy, perfect for a crowd and of course really good!

Beef tenderloin is basically filet mignon, but it is kept in a long round shape so that you can cook as a whole as opposed to little steaks, this is what makes it perfect for a crowd.

If you have a good butcher you can ask him for a tenderloin to serve your number of guests.  My butcher often has what he calls “beef tails” it is the end of the tenderloin so it is a little thinner, this makes it a little cheaper and is perfect for two people on a Tuesday.

Recipe:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Season your tenderloin on all sides.

Heat olive oil or butter in heavy bottom skilet

Add beef to skillet and brown on all sides

Place in oven

***I swear by a meat thermometer they are extremely cheap and they allow to check the temperature without slicing the meat.

Cook beef to 125 degress for rare 140 for medium rare and 160 for medium

If you do not have a thermometer either go get one, or take the tenderloin out after 15 minutes and start checking for your desired doneness

Remember the tenderloin will keep cooking somewhat after you take it out.  I allow about 5-10 degrees of change.

When I do this I take my beef out of the oven and cover with tin foil.  After about 13 minutes I slice it along the width into thin circles.

If you want to make it ahead of time you can cook it less than desired, cover in tin foil and let stand until your desired serving time and then you can reheat it in the oven.

Red Wine Reduction Sauce Recipe:

Reduce red wine (open bottle of wine, pour in pan, turn on heat) in sauce pan to at least half the original amount (about 3/4 cup per person)

When reduced whisk in 1 tablespoon butter for each serving

Add 1 teaspoon or more of cream for each serving

Season and Serve on Tenderloin

