The other week at King Chavez, the students spent the day pulling weeds, building rows and watering.  After all this work they were treated to a salad with lettuce from Griffin Farm (this is Matt’s farm). Most of the kids made a fuss about eating the lettuce.  They only ate it once they found out Mr. Matt had grown it, and when they realized that some of their class mates were actually trying it.   I made a simple vinaigrette, thinking all kids would like this. I was extremely wrong. I heard, “Miss, do you have Ranch?” about a thousand times. I could not blame them. I love ranch dressing, the idea of it is amazing–herbs, mayonnaise, how you could you go wrong?  Unfortunately, some of the ranch dressing you buy in the stores have some pretty narly and unrecognizable ingredients in it.  There are totally good brands to buy ranch from, but since this class is mainly about eating healthy I wasn’t sure if having them douse their baby organic greens with the ranch dressing the cafeteria uses would be the best lesson to teach.   I think that teaching the students at King Chavez how to make home made ranch dressing would be amazing.  Especially if I had some carrots for them to use for dipping.  One of the students actually drew me a diagram of how they want to have a ranch garden.

Here is the recipe I use to make ranch dressing.  If you would like to donate any of these items to me before Friday May 13th, that would be awesome

1 cup mayonnaise

1 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup sour cream (optional)

1/4 buttermilk powder (this is used to thicken)

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 bunched chopped chives

1 tablespoon onion powder

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon dried dill

1 tablespoon dried oregano

Mix all ingredients and season to taste with salt,  pepper and additions of ingredients if desired.

Let cool in refrigerator

My dream is that at school on Friday we will be able to make some ranch dressing.

