This recipe is for my sister, Jacqueline.  It is so simple I almost didn’t want to post it, thinking the overall response would be, “duh.”  But, my sister is always looking for simple recipes with one major guideline-  it has to be, brace yourself vegan.  No, my sister is not a vegan, (thank god) but her boyfriend is.  It was a little hard for me to deal with at first, but I had to learn that even though I live for butter, and the only milk I drink is the one where you have to push back the cream first and that cheese is like a family member, I learned that surprisingly not everyone is like this.  When they first started dating I would make something and think it was vegan, I would start listing ingredients like eggplant, garlic, olive oil, eggs….  I got a little confused.  I actually thought vegans ate parmesan at one point.

Even though this recipe is extremely simple it will come handy for anything from feeding a vegan or as a nice and healthy side dish to something like fish, or bacon (why not?).  It will keep for days so feel free to make it on Sunday and eat for you weeks lunches.

Recipe:

For every one cup of Quinoa use 2 cups of water.

In a stock pot place quinoa, water a dash of salt and a drizzle of olive oil.

Cover pot, bring to a boil and then let simmer covered.

When water is ALMOST dissolved (leave like a 1/2 teaspoon) remove from heat and “fluff up” with a wooden spoon, a drizzle of olive oil and the juice of one lemon. Season with salt and pepper.

In the recipe above I added one chopped cucumber and one bunch of chopped green onions. Feel free to add things like cashews, bell peppers, sauteed carrots, parsley, cilantro, olives or anything else you see fit.

