Tags

,

Lately, I have been trying to be vegan at least one day a week, and if I am really feeling crazy, gluten free as well.  I try to adopt a flexitarian lifestyle as much as I can.  This is hard for me considering the fact that for years of my life I have consistently had cake and espresso for breakfast, considered cheese a food group, and truly convinced myself prosciutto was good for me.  My parents raised my sisters and me with healthy eating habits that we all rebelled over in different ways once left to our own devices.  When I was first on my own, I was so excited to be able to eat sugar cereal for the first time I raced to the store to buy Lucky Charms, only to be immediately let down by how disgusting they were. From then on I would try to buy items I was used to, like pate and cornichons, which I later realized were just my best food memories of home, not staples.  My sister Dominique’s rebellion involved buying copious amount of forbidden candy that we were never allowed to have–and let me tell you I am not complaining.  My sister Jacqueline’s rebellion is the worst and most hilarious. When she left home, the excitement of being able to eat from fast food restaurants all the time overcame her in a way I have never seen before.  There is no other way to describe this: her face blew up. Her body couldn’t handle the shock to her system and she actually had to go to urgent care. They informed her that she had had an allergic reaction to something. I am pretty sure she has not had fast food since.   My sisters and I still enjoy eating french fries (we are Belgian!) and all other amazing not-so-good for you foods, but we know it is still good to do your best to be healthy some of the time.  This salad takes under five minutes to make, is healthy, has protein and hopefully won’t cause an allergic reaction to your face.

White Bean and Herb Salad

Serves 2

2 cups white beans (cannellini, great northern) either cooked yourself or from a can, Whole Foods and Trader Joes has great canned organic beans

Juice of one lemon

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon sesame seeds

1 teaspoon chili flakes

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 Cup Chopped Fresh Herbs of Your Choice.  I used parsley, chives and a pinch of dried herbs de provence.

This salad will keep in your fridge for a few days.

